Make Your Own Monday: Magical Butter Lotion

Happy Monday, followers! I have a great recipe to share with you today. It is another one of the amazing Pinterest finds.

Homemade lotion. Three ingredients and you have a mass of homemade goodness that (in my opinion) rivals high-end beauty store lotion. Plus, there are a thousand and one ways to tweak this recipe exactly to your liking. 

I made my first batch last night, and the reviews aren’t wrong. This stuff is amazing. It has a soft, clean scent and a rich, buttery texture. The petroleum jelly creates almost a shield over your skin, leaving it protected and not greasy in the slightest! My hands feel super soft 24 hours after  using it. 

I would normally post pictures with this, but I don’t have my camera with me this weekend, and my fiance took his off to Columbus this weekend. Try and use your imagination!

It reminds me of the fantastic body butters made by The Body Shop. The only difference? This lotion costs $3.00 to make. One jar of TBS body butter retails for $19.00. You get 34 ounces of lotion with this recipe. TBS comes in jars of 6.2 ounces. So let’s review – a fraction of the price and nearly six times as much product? Let’s do it.

YOU NEED:

– 1 15 ounce bottle of baby lotion (there are so many varieties – pick what you like best! Aloe, oatmeal, vanilla, lavender, sensitive skin)

– 1 13 ounce container of petroleum jelly. 

– 1 8 ounce container of pure vitamin E cream.

– Essential oils or a scent of your choice. I used peppermint oil to add a fresh and soothing scent that both my fiance and I could enjoy. Lavender would smell great, or maybe lemon. Tea tree oil is soothing and boats anti fungal properties.

– Containers to store the lotion in. I used an old kitchen jar with a locking lid. It has a nice country feel to it. 

You can find ALL these ingredients at your local dollar store! When you share your homemade lotion with your friends, they won’t believe it is from the dollar store! 

START:

1. Combine all of the above ingredients in a large bowl. The original recipe says you should whip it all with a hand mixer for five minutes, but you can get the same results with a spatula and a steady hand. Mine was fluffy and buttery after stirring for a few minutes. 

2. Optional, but add half a teaspoon of essential oil and stir to incorporate. Add more if you want a stronger scent.

3. Put it in pretty jars and pass it out to your friends! It’s a great gift. 

SPEND: $3.00

SAVE: This lotion is like getting SIX jars of TBS body butter. Buy six of them, and it would cost you $114.00! Save $111.00! 

 

Melissa’s Comments:

You can really tweak this stuff to your liking. Coconut oil, baby oil, aloe vera gel – why not add a little less baby lotion and throw one of them into the mix? Or how about a handful of oatmeal? Experiment and find what works best for your skin.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Make Your Own Monday: Magical Butter Lotion

  1. I’m so excited to try this. I think I’ll add a little coconut oil…thanks! I’m just wondering where the dedication I was promised is? ;P

    • Haha! Actually, I bought chicken to make the copycat CFA recipe post this week for your recognition!

      Thanks for being my dedicated first follower! And let me know how the coconut oil works in it. I love me some coconut oil.

      • The coconut oil makes it feel a little waxy, but it’s hella moisturizing. Give it a try. It healed my split cuticles almost overnight when I put my cotton gloves on and went to sleep.

  2. Pingback: Make Your Own Monday: Psoriasis & Anti-Itch Ointment | The Happy Idiot

Leave a Reply

