Make Your Own Monday: Fabulously Fragranced Febreeze!

Good afternoon, followers. For this week’s Make Your Own Monday, I would like to introduce you to my very first make your own recipe, and my first foray into the world of saving money.

Homemade Febreeze. 

Febreeze is a staple of my daily life. It helps with allergies, covers up the litter box smell, and in a pinch, can turn that wrinkled shirt into a clean top to wear to work. I go through it like nobody’s business. Maybe one bottle every two weeks.

Know how much that would cost if I went out and bought it twice a month? $5.99 a bottle. That’s $11.98 a month, or $143.76 a year! Are you kidding me? There are so many other things I would love to drop that much on! 

Let me tell you about my fabulous little recipe, which consists of three ingredients, stuff you probably already have in your house! 

3 Ingredients is all you need

3 Ingredients is all you need

 

Fabric Softener, baking soda, water, and a spray bottle. That’s all it takes for two weeks worth of sweet scented spray! 

Homemade Febreeze

  1. 1/4 cup of fabric softener
  2. 1 tablespoon of baking soda
  3. Mix the first two ingredients in the spray bottle and give it a good shake. You don’t want the baking soda to clump up.
  4. Fill the remainder of the bottle up with warm water and you’re good to go!

The best part about this? You can choose whatever scent of fabric softener you like, from the cheapest (the dollar store actually has some nice, flowery scents) to some of the pricier ones, like Gain (4.99 a bottle). You could even mix scents to find something just for you! 

SPEND:

Dollar Store baking soda: $1.00

Fabric Softener: $4.99

TOTAL: $5.99

SAVE: 

One bottle of fabric softener plus one box of baking soda gets you TWENTY bottles of homemade Febreeze! If you bought twenty bottles of Febreeze off the shelf, you would pay $119.80! For this, you pay $5.99!  That’s a savings of $113.81! Can you imagine what you could do with an additional hundred bucks a year? 

MELISSA’S COMMENTS: My absolute favorite fabric softener to use is the line of Exhilarations by Snuggles. They have the yummiest scents – Sweetblossom and Wildflower, Wild Orchid Vanilla, and my absolute favorite, White Lilac and Spring Flowers. 

Give it a spray on your wrinkled clothes and smooth them out. It’s a quick fix when you don’t have time to iron, or you just want to freshen up some stale clothes!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Make Your Own Monday: Fabulously Fragranced Febreeze!

  1. I ran out of the regular premade stuff when my son was sick with a virus, and I couldn’t get to the store. I love that it’s so simple, and that I could really make it with stuff I already had. A lot of these tips I read on the webz say that you can make the stuff with the stuff you have around your house, but usually they call for some off the wall stuff and I think “Ummm, ok maybe you have that just lying around, but I sure don’t so thanks anyway” I made it with some Gain fabric softener since that’s the scent I usually buy. God, I’m never going back to the premade stuff again. It even got rid of the sour virus smell in my son’s room. Bless your penny pinchin’ heart! Thanks oodles!

  2. Pingback: Make Your Own Monday: Room Fragrance Spray | The Happy Idiot

  3. Pingback: Make Your Own Monday: Carpet Cleaner | The Happy Idiot

  4. Hi, I do think this is a great blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to come back once again since i have saved
    as a favorite it. Money and freedom is the best way to change, may you be rich and continue to
    help others.

Leave a Reply

