College Care Package Challenge 2013

Image

Hello, followers! I have been a little busy in my life as of late, what with finishing up another semester of school and finally moving into our house, but I finally have something to share with you. A little project I call the College Care Package Challenge. A few couponing friends and I all have either college-age friends or kids and we thought it would be fun to coupon for packages to send along with them to school.

I myself don’t have kids, but I do have a sister in college, and I decided to do this for her.

We decided to set up these requirements for the package – 1. Something fun to share with roommates, 2. Beauty supplies and toiletries, and 3. Food, the one thing college students never, EVER have enough of.

Let me show you the haul for my sister

Image

Great haul, right? But let’s get to my favorite part: telling you how very little I paid for all of it.

TOTAL RETAIL VALUE: $153.96

TOTAL COST PAID: $10.35

TOTAL SAVINGS: $143.61 or a savings of 93%

Want to know how I did it? Let me break it down for you. I took advantage of Kroger Free Friday deals, coupons, 10 for $10 sales, and my love of free samples.

Colgate Cavity Protection toothpaste, retail $2.99 each. This was one item from Kroger’s Free Friday download. However, it was also on sale for ten for ten AND I had a coupon for $1.00 off one. Combing those two offers, I got them for free! FREE

Lady speed stick, retail $3.29. These were also on sale for ten for ten and I had a .50 cents off one which doubled to one dollar off. FREE

Clear therapy shampoo, retail $5.99. Free Friday download. FREE

Venus and Olay razor, retail $9.99. This was a free sample from Target’s beauty box! FREE

Venus and Olay razor, retail $7.99. This was from a prior blogged haul of mine. I paid $1.92

Soft Soap, retail price of  $1.49. These were on sale ten for ten, and I had a .50 cents off one coupon which doubled to one dollar off. FREE

I got the bin, sunscreen, button, pens, and funnel cake kit at the FANTASTIC store Five Below. It was at the top of my list for finding fun stuff. How about a night of making funnel cakes? That sounds fun to me. I also included some random Big Bang Theory swag, just because we’re all big fans of the show. I had a great email coupon for $5.00 off $10.00. The sun screen were BUY ONE GET ONE FREE at $5.99 each. I paid $2.00 for the bin, $4.00 for pens and button, $1.00 for funnel cake kit. Total is $12.99, after coupon I paid $7.99

Cover Girl nail polish: retail $2.99, I used 2.00 off one coupon, paid 99 cents. This was an awesome coupon because the original was for one of the larger sized Cover Girl nail polishes which retail for $6.99 each. Then, Cover Girl came out with the mini Nail-tini line which only cost $2.99 each! Always look around for a smaller option if you can. I’m a big fan of the Nail-tinis, they are really cute colors with even cuter names – I picked Blue Hawaiian for my sister. I paid .99

The Nivea Lotion is a favorite. They retail for $6.49 each, and they were on sale BOGO, plus I had a $5.00 off two Nivea products. I paid $1.49

Kraft Mac and Cheese. They retail for .79 each, and I had an awesome coupon for $1.00 off three. I paid $1.37

Ghirardelli Chocolate Bar. I made a trip to Chicago recently and stocked up on bars. They always do a great deal where you buy four, and get a fifth free. I didn’t include them in my original total retail, but I thought I would include the free bar in the package. After all, who doesn’t love chocolate? FREE

Now, let me get a little more detailed about the makeup case from Ulta. I had a birthday coupon giving me 10.00 off anything in the store, no minimum purchase. They were having an awesome sale on the 3 in 1 bubble bath, shampoo and body wash smoothies that I love – buy two and get two free, so I got four of them for $24.00. Since I spent more than $19.97 on Ulta products, I got the bag of makeup for free. Adding in my birthday coupon, I paid 14.00 for four bottles of body smoothies and a makeup kit that retails for over $88.00. That is fantastic deal.

What do you love to save money on for your favorite college students? Leave a comment and let me know!

2 thoughts on “College Care Package Challenge 2013

Leave a Reply

