A Taste of Lay’s Do Us A Flavor Chips

 

 

 

 

 

Potato chips are a favorite snack of mine. It’s pretty rare not to find a bag or two in our pantry. So I was really excited to see that Lay’s continued their Do Us a Flavor program from last year and introduced some new chip flavors. 

If you don’t recall, last year they introduced three new potato chip flavors – Sriracha, Cheesy Garlic Bread, and my personal favorite, Chicken and Waffles. The public voted and (much to my heartbreak, I so loved the Chicken and Waffle chips) you can now find Cheesy Garlic Bread on your grocery shelves.

This year, they have four new flavor finalists. Cheddar Bacon Mac n Cheese, Mango Salsa, Cappuccino, and Wasabi Ginger. I stopped by the store to pick some up and have my thoughts on them for you. I will say that I did NOT try the Wasabi Ginger, simply because I don’t think I would be a good judge of it. I don’t like Wasabi so I didn’t want it to influence my feelings. I gave them a rating out of Five Stars based on taste and creativity (I watch way too much Food Network).

chips

 

Cheddar Bacon Mac & Cheese: 5/5 Stars I definitely looked forward to trying these the most. I absolutely LOVE Mac and Cheese, and bacon makes it even better. The taste was delicious – a smoky bacon but with a real rich, creaminess at the end. Crunchy, flavorful, and perfect for when you need a cheesy fix.

Mango Salsa: 4/5 Stars This absolutely surprised me. I doubted I would like the Mango flavor. I just couldn’t see a fruit flavor working with a potato chip. There is a punch of real fruity Mango at first bite, which was unexpected and a little strange, but became very pleasant. The aftertaste is peppery and a little vinegary and reminds me of something you would find on the menu at a Southwestern style restaurant. 

Cappuccino 1/5 Stars My biggest disappointment. I am a coffee addict and I was genuinely enthused at the idea of trying it in a new medium – you can get ice cream and candy and desserts, but this was the first potato chip product. The taste was syrupy and warm – kind of like an unpleasant cinnamon sensation, and the coffee flavor was just not there for me at ALL. It just tasted wrong. I give it one star because it redeemed itself SLIGHTLY after I dipped a piece in melted chocolate to see if it would balance the flavors. Definitely not something I would eat on purpose.

Stay tuned this week for a great recipe featuring the Mac and Cheese Chips!

What flavor of chip would you like to see?

 

Leave a Reply

