DIY Gift Wrap Ideas

The holidays are here again. Hanukkah has begun, and Christmas is six days away. I love this time of year – food, friends, family – even though I’m not a fan of the weather that comes along with it.

I finished my Christmas shopping a while ago, but I hadn’t sat down to wrap anything until a few nights ago. It was then that I discovered we had zero wrapping paper in the house. Nothing left over from last year, not even a roll of Birthday paper. But I still had a pile of gifts, and I really didn’t want to go out and buy wrapping paper. Especially not since I read an article from Stanford University, about how much paper we waste each holiday season.

If every family reused just two feet of holiday ribbon, the 38,000 miles of ribbon saved could tie a bow around the entire planet. If every American family wrapped just 3 presents in re-used materials, it would save enough paper to cover 45,000 football fields. The 2.65 billion Christmas cards sold each year in the U.S. could fill a football field 10 stories high. If we each sent one card less, we’d save 50,000 cubic yards of paper.

We recycle regularly, so it occurred to me that I had a wealth of materials already at my fingertips. So I flattened out a few paper grocery bags, added some ribbon and color, and made some really nice wrapping paper!

wrap

 

You can be really creative this way, and then whatever you use can just be recycled! Try paper bags, newspaper, old coloring book pages (great idea for kids!), whatever you can find!

I decided to peruse Pinterest and other bloggers to see what else I could come up with for some fun and environmentally friendly ideas.

Socks and Scarves!

This is a great idea – nothing is wasted, and really, it’s like two gifts in one!

winesockgift5

Look at this idea from Formal Fringe – a bottle of wine all wrapped up in cute socks.

Legos!

gift-wrap-11-363x600

This might be the coolest thing I’ve ever seen. Yes, that is a Christmas present wrapped up in a box made of Legos!  Check out DIY Life for even more ideas!

Fabric, Pillowcases, and More!

enhanced-buzz-21799-1353095788-0

Buzzfeed is my go-to website for fun and inventive ideas when it comes to .  . . well, pretty much EVERYTHING! But they’ve outdone themselves with this list of unexpected gift wrap ideas. My favorite is the decorated fabric that can be reused again and again! You could even make something special and personalized for a friend or family member to be used each year! A pillowcase would especially be great!

I hope your holidays are merry and bright and maybe a little more environmentally conscious this year.

Leave a Reply

