Two Cent Fabric Softener

Happy Thursday, everybody. I hope you’re having a good day. It’s dreary and rainy in Michigan, so I’ve been doing a lot of indoor chores, mostly laundry. It’s one of the few chores that I don’t mind doing. I love folding a basket of soft, clean, warm laundry. The smell can’t be beat. Especially when I use my Two Cent Fabric Softener.

LAUNDRY1

Yes, you read that correctly. Two cents.

I haven’t purchased fabric softener since we bought our house three years ago. I discovered this amazing combination and I never looked back. You need two ingredients and a gallon size jug and you’re in business!

You Need:

  • One Gallon Sized Jug
  • One Gallon of WHITE, DISTILLED vinegar (Cost: $1.99)
  • One bottle of hair conditioner – your choice of scents! This is my favorite part – I love finding new scents in the aisle or mixing two to create a new scent – one of my favorites is a mixture of almond and coconut. Suave and V05 are normally the least expensive (Cost: 99 Cents)
  • Total Cost: $2.98

You can either add it directly to your wash one ounce at a time OR you can soak a washcloth with one ounce and toss it in the dryer with your wash. It works great both ways – and I promise you won’t even know there was vinegar in it when you smell it dry – just fresh, clean fragrance!

Making Fabric Softener

  1. Fill the container with a half gallon of WHITE, DISTILLED vinegar
  2. Add one bottle of hair conditioner.
  3. Shake the bottle and add water until the bottle is full

Let’s do the math. A gallon bottle of fabric softener costs between $10.00 and $15.00 each. Making my Two Cent Fabric softener costs $2.98. A gallon bottle has 128 ounces, so you get 128 loads. (Trust me, a little of this stuff goes a long way) That’s TWO CENTS per load, as opposed to twelve cents per load of the store bought brand – it’s six times as expensive to buy it!

Benefits of Vinegar in Your Laundry

  • Softens fabric
  • Clothes won’t dull as easily
  • Prevents static cling
  • It’s cheap!

Switch to making your own fabric softener – you’ll never regret it!

4 thoughts on “Two Cent Fabric Softener

  1. I just saw this on the Crafty and Delicious Party. This is a fabulous idea!!!! I’m definitely going to do this.

    I’m trying to grow my own link party and I invite you to share this (and a couple of others) at my Grandma Ideas Sharing Time link up at http://grandmaideas.com. I think my readers would LOVE this idea, too. My link up goes through Friday night at midnight. I hope that you’ll be able to drop by and share!

    I’m pinning and tweeting this!

    All the best,
    Nina

Leave a Reply

